Medical Marijuana, or Cannabis, is becoming a more popular and standardized treatment for various chronic illnesses and conditions. Two of the most prominent cannabinoids in medical marijuana that help to ease symptoms are THC and CBD. The medical marijuana program allows people to get relief from symptoms without getting high by using products that have more CBD than THC.
By working with the pharmacists at the dispensaries in CT, patients are able to discuss what symptoms they are trying to alleviate and come up with an appropriate plan.
6 Medical Marijuana Facts
- There are many ways to take medical marijuana. These ways are not only limited to smoking but include pill form, vaping, used in food or beverages, and applied topically through oils.
- Medical marijuana was first legalized in California in 1996 and is now legal in nearly half of all U.S. states.
- Marijuana was used for thousands of years around the world to treat various ailments until the 1900s.
- Medical marijuana has not been known to cause any serious, lasting side effects.
- Inhaled cannabis side effects will begin to subside after 45 minutes, but ingested cannabis can last anywhere from 6 to 8 hours. Knowing your tolerance level can help you understand the proper dosage needed.
- You can use CBD which will not produce psychoactive effects as THC does. Many children with conditions like epilepsy use a form of marijuana that will not get you high.
Marijuana in Connecticut State Laws
In 2012, Governor Malloy signed House Bill 5389 protecting patients who are registered with the Department of Consumer Protection from being arrested or penalized if they use medical marijuana for palliative use. Marijuana cannot be used in a motor vehicle, a public place, in the presence of a minor, or a workplace or school.
A written certification for use of medical marijuana means a certification that was written by a qualifying physician. A qualifying physician would be a licensed person under chapter 370 of the general statutes, which will include APRNs.
A debilitating medical condition includes cancer, epilepsy, Parkinson’s disease, PTSD, or any medical condition that is approved by the Department of Consumer Protection pursuant to regulations that are adopted under section 14 of House Bill 5389.
Connecticut has decriminalized possession of marijuana for personal use for possession of less than ½ an ounce that includes a fine of about $150. If it is a repeat offense or you have more than ½ an ounce you can face jail time along with a fine.
Connecticut Cannabis State ID Program
Getting a Connecticut Cannabis State ID is a process that requires the following
- Patients must be at least 18 years old and a CT resident
- Patients must be diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition by a Connecticut-licensed physician allowing the use of medical marijuana
- Medical records from your physician describing your diagnosis along with a signed document from a physician licensed to practice in CT
- Regardless of medical condition, an inmate cannot retrieve a CT Cannabis State ID
- An application along with $100 made out by check or money order to Connecticut Medical Marijuana Program
Once all of the requirements have been met the Department of Consumer Protection will review all documentation and information from the patient and physician to determine the eligibility for a registration certificate and, if qualified, send a certificate.
Always follow Connecticut rules and regulations regarding medical marijuana in order to abide by the law. Connecticut residents who qualify can benefit from the medicinal properties of marijuana that have been recommended to treat over 250 medical conditions. Once you are approved for medical marijuana use in Connecticut, you will be directed to the qualified dispensaries in Connecticut to help you find the appropriate strains of marijuana to help alleviate symptoms from your condition.